Detroit Red Wings’ Moritz Seider finalist for Calder Trophy; Lucas Raymond is not

Detroit Free Press

Detroit Red Wings’ defenseman Moritz Seider could be the Wings’ first NHL rookie of the year in nearly six decades.

Seider, Toronto Maple Leafs forward Michael Bunting and Anaheim Ducks forward Trevor Zegras were  announced Wednesday as the finalists for the Calder Memorial Trophy by the league. The winners of the awards will be revealed during the conference finals and Stanley Cup Final, with exact dates, format and times to be announced.

Seider was a lock to at the very least be a finalist after leading all rookies with 43 assists and leading all rookie defensemen with 50 points.

RELATED: How Moritz Seider went from ‘a bit overwhelmed’ to NHL’s leading rookie

MORE WINGS: How Steve Yzerman can make most of picking eighth in 2022 NHL draft

The Wings haven’t had a Calder Trophy winner since goaltender Roger Crozier in 1965. Steve Yzerman lost to Tom Barrasso in 1984 and Nicklas Lidstrom was runner-up to Pavel Bure in 1992. More recently, Henrik Zetterberg lost to Barret Jackman in 2003, and Jimmy Howard finished second in voting to Tyler Myers in 2010.

Fellow Wings rookie Lucas Raymond was also projected to be a candidate after completing his rookie season with 23 goals and 57 points in 82 games, but he was surpassed in points by Bunting (63) and Zegras (61).

Contact Helene St. James at Follow her on Twitter @helenestjames. Read more on the Detroit Red Wings and sign up for our Red Wings newsletter. Her book, The Big 50: The Detroit Red Wings is available from AmazonBarnes & Noble and Triumph Books. Personalized copies available via her e-mail. 

Articles You May Like

Mickey’s Moments 12.3.22
Answering all the tough Red Wings’ questions heading into December
Margin for error slim as Red Wings embark on challenging road trip
How his Tampa Bay days have propelled Derek Lalonde to succeed as Detroit Red Wings coach
Red Wings Weekly: Dylan Larkin Is Going to Get Paid

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *