Red Wings’ Henrik Zetterberg not part of Hall of Fame class; Alfredsson in

Detroit News

Detroit — Henrik Zetterberg isn’t in the Hall of Fame — yet.

Zetterberg, in his first year of eligibility, was not part of the Hockey Hall of Fame’s 2022 class, announced Monday.

Daniel Alfredsson, who ended his career playing with the Red Wings in 2013-14, along with twin brothers Daniel and Henrik Sedin, Roberto Luongo, and Finnish woman’s star Riika Sallinen will be entering the Hall of Fame this year, along with Herb Carnegie in the builders’ category.

But no Zetterberg, who starred for the Wings for 15 seasons before retiring in 2018. Zetterberg was a 1999 seventh-round pick (210th overall) who became a captain of the Wings, and one of the legendary players in the Original Six organization.

Zetterberg led the Wings to the 2008 Stanley Cup, earning the Conn Smythe Trophy as the postseason Most Valuable Player, the highlight of his outstanding NHL career.

Zetterberg finished with 337 goals, 623 assists and 960 points (all fifth-most in organization history) in 1,082 games with the Wings. Zetterberg is one of 30 players in the Triple Gold Club — winners of a Stanley Cup, men’s world championship and Olympic gold medal (both of his with Team Sweden).

Alfredsson finally got the call Monday after having been eligible for enshrinement since 2017.

Alfredsson played in 68 games in his only season with the Wings, with 18 goals and 31 assists for 49 points. But it was in Ottawa where Alfredsson made his mark, where he spent 17 legendary years and became an icon in the community and face of the organization.

For his career, Alfredsson played 1,246 games with 444 goals and 713 assists (1,157 points). Alfredsson was selected by the Senators in the sixth round of the 1994 NHL Entry Draft, and won the Calder Memorial Trophy for the league’s top rookie in 1995-96, posting 26 goals and 35 assists in 82 games.

Alfredsson, who captained Ottawa from 2000-13, won Olympic gold in 2006 and led the Senators to the Stanley Cup Finals in 2007 before losing to Anaheim.

Zetterberg isn’t the only former Red Wing waiting to induction.

Pat Verbeek, Curtis Joseph and Chris Osgood are former Wings who’ve been waiting years, but have yet to get the call from the Hall of Fame.

Former Michigan State star and current Carolina coach Rod Brind’Amour, along with Alex Mogilny, Sergei Gonchar and Pierre Turgeon, are other prominent players who continue to get nosed out for inclusion.

Twitter: @tkulfan

Articles You May Like

3 Patrick Kane line combinations for the Detroit Red Wings to consider
Detroit Red Wings forward Joe Veleno cooling off after hot start to season
Detroit Red Wings forward J.T. Compher keeps churning out points
Detroit Red Wings forward Robby Fabbri getting into a groove as of late
Detroit Red Wings may be without Shayne Gostisbehere after injury

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *